Innovative Research Universities (IRU) is a network of seven comprehensive universities committed to inclusive excellence in teaching and research in Australia.

Our membership is Charles Darwin University, Flinders University, Griffith University, James Cook University, La Trobe University, Murdoch University and Western Sydney University.

The IRU is committed to reach and serve our communities through the highest standards in teaching, learning and research.

Working collectively, the IRU is at the constructive centre of Australian university policy making, influencing political developments beyond the capacity of individual universities. We advocate policy that supports excellence in teaching, learning and research that has local relevance and global applicability.

IRU member universities focus on success for students from all backgrounds, responding to local populations and fixing state and national gaps in access. Students enrolled at our universities study in welcoming, supportive and quality teaching environments which offer academic opportunities and globally respected qualifications.

IRU members research issues of critical importance to the communities in which they are based to address problems of national and international scale. Over time our members have developed their own particular research strengths, with multiple areas of research at and above global standard.

IRU members strive to be universities of choice for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students and staff, promoting understanding of Indigenous knowledge in education, research and policy.

As an outward-looking network the IRU seeks to strengthen Australia’s integration with the countries of Asia.